SOTD: The Smith Street Band – I Don’t Wanna Die Anymore

Posted: October 13, 2015 in Music, Song Of The Day
Tags: , ,

I was hanging out with a friend last night who isn’t really into Smith Street – “too ocka and shouty” was her general complaint – but we usually like the same stuff, so she asked me to make a mix for her to check out.

Driving home I was thinking about what songs to put in there, and I Don’t Wanna Die Anymore was high on the list. I think anyone who’s battled the black dog and won (even if only temporarily) can probably relate to the sentiment of this song. It always makes me smile when I hear it and it goes off live.

Also the little lead riff that comes in during the bridge reminds of a classical song that I just can’t put my finger on – I think it’s the song usually played on the church bells at weddings? 100 music genius points to anyone who can name that song for me!

Leave a Reply

